Statement To Members on Government Shutdown

NBPC Members,

While we all suffer the delay of our first paycheck under the government shutdown, we believe that it is imperative to dispel any rumors being promulgated by those with extreme left-leaning views on social media and those who are hoping to place the blame on anyone other than with whom it belongs.

The Union did not cause the shutdown and our support of the wall is not the reason the shutdown continues.

President Trump made it abundantly clear prior to the shutdown that he would not allow an appropriations bill to move forward without funding for the wall. Those in Congress who believed he was bluffing moved forward without funding the wall, so consequently, a shutdown commenced on December 22, 2018.

The NBPC’s number one legislative priority has been, and will continue to be, agent compensation and retention – both of which, hand-in-hand, will contribute greatly to border security. We have met with members of Congress and the leadership of our country at the highest levels of government to convey this message.

It was during our January 3, 2019, meeting with President Trump that we discussed our priorities and their impact on border security.

To make it simple, we cannot get what we need with another continuing resolution. Without the support and understanding of the White House and Congress, an appropriations bill will not contain the funding necessary to ensure we hire the agents we need and retain the ones we have, and at the same time make sure that they are getting compensated fairly for performing the work needed to ensure border security.

The NBPC cannot address every comment on social media, so we ask that you discuss any concerns you may have with your Local’s Executive Board Officers and/or the National Executive Committee.

- NBPC National Executive Committee

NBPC 1613 Elections

The following candidates were nominated for office at the October 11, 2016 membership meeting:

President: Terence L. Shigg
1st Vice President: Robert Lopez
2nd Vice President: Tommy Ward
3rd Vice President: Joshua Wilson

Dario Alonso
Christopher J. Harris
Jim Moriarty

Robert E. Cortez
Kris Whitworth

The Election will be held on November 8th, 2016.

Voting can be done in person at The Crown Plaza hotel or by mail.

More updatres to follow. 

Nominations for Local 1613 Executive Board

September 26, 2016 (As posted in station bulletin boards)

Nominations for the offices of President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, 3rd Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Sergeant At Arms will be accepted from the floor of the general membership meeting on October 11, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. at The Crowne Plaza Hotel (Crowne Plaza San Diego, 2270 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108). Please read the Supplemental to Nomination Notice for a description of the duties and responsibilities of each office.

Official Notice

Know Your Rights

  • Article 28 I +

    Article 28 I - Where mutually agreeable to all employees affected, and approved by the supervisor, employees may trade shifts out Read More
  • Article 31 B (1) +

    Article 31 B (1) - If an employee reasonably believes an examination may result in disciplinary action against the employee, the Read More
  • Article 14 H +

    Article 14 H - Employees are not required to submit a form SF-71 for sick leave periods of not more than Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10